faculty procession at Commencement

The provost and dean of the faculty is the chief academic officer of the college and has primary responsibility for matters of academic policy and for the academic budget.  The provost serves as secretary to the Committee of Six, the executive committee of the faculty, and as secretary to the faculty.  She oversees the Robert Frost Library, the Mead Art Museum, the Beneski Museum of Natural History, the Emily Dickinson Museum, the Office of Institutional Research and Registrar Services, the Center for Community Engagement, the Center for Humanistic Inquiry, the Center for Teaching and Learning, the Amherst Center for Russian Culture, the college’s international programs (including study away), the Office of Fellowships, the Grants Office, and the Loeb Center for Career Exploration and Planning. The provost has joint responsibility for the Department of Physical Education and Athletics.  She serves as the college’s Five College deputy.

Catherine Epstein, Provost and Dean of the Faculty;
Henry Steele Commager Professor of History

Catherine Epstein Catherine Epstein has been Amherst’s dean of the faculty since 2014 and became the college’s first provost and dean of the faculty in 2019. A professor of history at the college since 2000, she is a scholar of German history and the author of four books, including Model Nazi: Arthur Greiser and the Nazi Occupation of Western Poland (Oxford, 2010) and a textbook, Nazi Germany: Confronting the Myths (Wiley-Blackwell, 2015). Provost Epstein has taught a wide range of European history classes, including courses on the Holocaust, Nazi Germany, and World War II. Read more about Provost Epstein »

To request a meeting with Provost Epstein, please contact Polly Devereux or complete meeting request form